New Years resolutions, followup Day 3


Well, yesterday I didn’t do a yoga or running workout, mostly because I was so sleep deprived I felt that doing a workout would do more harm than good. I had gotten 4 hours of interrupted sleep the night before, and ended up taking a nap in the middle of the day. In fact, I fell asleep on the living room chair with two children running full throttle!

Today, I tried to turn it around a bit. I didn’t go to church this morning (need to get back on that schedule), but I did get in a yoga practice outside in the cul-de-sac. And, of course, some journaling and yoga. Last night, I got a lot of sleep, with quite vivid dreams.

I do think journaling and blogging is helping with the anger management. I’ve handled things marginally better, though I am still feeling a bit of resentment. I think a combination of cabin fever brought on by a two-week school vacation (including 8 hours in the van together), two or three rather severe illnesses, and the after-effects of these (read: house a lot messier than I would like) have tested our ability to regulate emotions around here. I resume work tomorrow, and our older one resumes school on Tuesday. The saving grace has been that the neighbor’s children have been out of school as well, so when we haven’t been off visiting relatives they have been playing in the backyard.

Leave a comment