Uprooted


The last few weeks have been very difficult, but I think in the end things will be much better. You see, we’ve moved to Asheville, NC, Land of the Sky. (Well, there are places in the world that are much, much closer to the sky than Asheville, but hey, I like it.) Our house is in a nice little valley surrounded on three sides by mountains, and the view from my office is incredible. My employer has been greatly understanding about the move, and I don’t think I could ask for more cooperation from them.

It has, however, been hard. At about the same time I started the actual move, work picked up dramatically, sometimes forcing me to work 60 hours on top of moving to meet deadlines (and this is with an understanding employer). The new house is arranged differently (and I think to the better), but systems of storing things that worked before have to be rethought. We also have to get rid of a lot of stuff (we already got rid of a lot of stuff, and have to get rid of more).  And, of course, don’t forget the grass, the messes that children leave, and the old house which still has stuff in it and hasn’t sold yet.

I’m going to like it. Maybe in a few weeks when I come up for air again I’ll become an Asheville blogger.

3 Responses

  1. I am incredibly jealous. You’re not moving nito the old Vanderbilt house, are you? 😉

  2. As my mom always says, “move” is a four letter word.

  3. Wade, don’t I wish. However, as my yearly income is lower than 7 digits, I’ll have to content myself with driving by on the odd occasion that I get out of the house.

    Patrick – I’m never, ever doing this again. If I need a bigger house, I’ll build on.

Leave a Reply

