Steve Jobs: Dump DRM


Steve Jobs published a missive yesterday on why DRM is bad. Would Apple “embrace DRM-free music “in a heartbeat”? I’d like to think so. I mean, they’ve embraced an open-source model (Darwin) for their operating system, and their proprietary code consists primarily of making that open-source OS easy to use and adding functionality (granted, a LOT of functionality) on top of it. Presentation Zen has also noted that Jobs published an alternate opinion in 2002.

I hope Jobs is being forthcoming about his “thoughts on music.” I like Apple’s elegance and ease of use (I’ve been using Apple products since 1986), but I’m coming to like “free as in speech” software even better.

Leave a Reply

