News fast experiment


Steve Pavlina reports on his experiences of going “news free”:http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2006/09/overcoming-news-addiction/. In fact, he calls it “overcoming news addiction.” He lists some very good reasons to go news free.

I’m thinking about it. I certainly think this would change the nature of the blog, because I would not be reacting as much to events. It may also change the nature of my interaction with my world, because I would become less of a passive receiver of information in response to which I react, but rather a proactive gatherer.

So I think I am going to follow these ideas in a small way. 30 days, starting today, and targeting mostly general news sites. There are a few specific news sites germane to my industry that I still feel the need to track, so I will continue to do that during this experiment. It’s also a great chance to prune my newsreader of old feeds that I just skip over.

Leave a Reply

