Ode to Sam


!http://homepage.mac.com/johnj1/.cv/johnj1/Sites/.Pictures/Photo%20Album%20Pictures/2003-06-23%2010.40.39%20-0700/Image-134ED692A5A111D7.jpg-thumb_273_205.jpg!

No longer will I have the sight of her butt in my face while I’m doing yoga. Sam, our sunshine kitty who has graced our lives for almost 8 years, passed away today due to squamous cell cancer in the mouth. We adopted her when she was 2 or 3 years old, a vagabond at the vet. She was quirky, even as cats go:

* If I started doing yoga, even if she was asleep, she would come over and put a butt in my face while I was doing down dog.
* She would often come inside, use the litter box, and then go back outside.
* She spent a good part of her time so large that she could not fit through our cat door.
* She had her perch on the back of the sofa.
* She spent a good deal of time purring. She would even purr when upset.

Rest in peace, Sam.

3 Responses

  1. I miss my sunshine kitty.

  2. I have always believed that orange tabbies have more personality than the average feline. My sincere sympathies, John. The loss of an animal companion brings its own unique pain.

  3. Sorry to hear that John.

    I think all cats act the same when they see someone doing yoga. Ours makes sure that the tip of her tail is always close to your nose if you are in down dog.

Leave a Reply

