Getting back into practice


So today I went back to a yoga class for the first time in 3 weeks, and the second time in 5. I much prefer going once a week, and preferably two or three, but at least once. However, when life intervenes you do have to roll with the punches.

In the meantime, I tried to keep up with practice at home as best I could. That didn’t always work out, and now I feel a few pounds heavier. So it’s back to cutting out the sugar and bumping up the exercise — I can’t change my past behavior but I can change the present.

Practice today was an odd mixture of backing off old, familiar poses (e.g. ustrasana) which I knew would carry me over the edge of fatigue and courageously trying less familiar poses such as parsva bakasana, eka pada koundinyasana, and the twisted child’s pose. I feel very energetic right now because of the practice, and, of course, I’m aching for more.

It’s time to pick up the pieces of my home practice and build something better.

