Don’t throw me a bone


I must admit, my tolerance for stupidity in the federal government has grown enormously over the last few years. Or maybe I’ve just learned to shake my head when I hear stories, and then keep doing what I can. However, every once in a while a story comes along that jaw-droppingly ridiculous my limits of tolerance are challenged.

This time, it’s the proposed $100 rebate for high gas prices. Who does the Senate think they represent? Sure, I can put that $100 to good use. I have bills to pay, clothes to buy, gas to pump. Hey, that alone will be enough to buy gas for three weeks or so.

And then it’s gone.

Senators, if you think the federal government’s budget can handle a one-time payout of $100 to every tax-paying household, why not take that $billion or so and invest it in renewable energy sources? If you want to “cut dependence on foreign oil” (such as the oil we get from Mexico and Canada, our two _largest suppliers_ of oil), then cut dependence on oil. You can either pitch those $billions into a program which will eat it up (and have it wind up into the pockets of the bankers or oil execs), or put it into a program that will offer savings for years to come.

Think about it.

4 Responses

  1. Energy independance! Here, here!

  2. Amen…

  3. Looks like this program is sunk. Nobody outside Congress likes it.

  4. Well said John. Definitely sounds of the old “give a man a fish or teach him to fish” proverb.

Comments are closed.

