Correlation and causation


Heh. If you clicked on the title expecting some deep entry about the difference between causation and correlation and its application in statistics, you’d be wrong. I’m going to talk about one instance.

I went today to my second yoga class in about four months. Before that, I attended almost weekly. Since then, I’ve gained around 15 pounds, experienced much higher stress, have not eaten as well, and really fell off on my home practice (though, except for my bout with pneumonia, I’ve kept up _something_ almost every day). I’m trying to get back into a weekly or at least biweekly routine again.

So, is the yoga the cause of gaining 15 pounds and the stress or a correlation. I imagine a little bit of both. Of course, the event that occurred at the beginning of all this is late pregnancy and the birth of my second child. Yeah, that contributed to a lot. But I wonder how much the stopping yoga contributed.

Well, I’m about to find out. I’m going to try to go weekly again. We’ll see how far that gets me.

