Orac


In the past, and in the past couple of days, I’ve posted several articles very critical of “Orac”:http://oracknows.blogspot.com, a well-known quackbuster. I think I need to clarify a few points.

I don’t know Orac personally. I don’t know that much about his character except from his own statements and statements that I can read and corroborate to at least some level of plausibility. He has made what I feel are contradictory statements on alternative medicine (mostly about his opinions on the subject). I can pretty safely assume that he is who he say he is, a practicing surgeon and professor of some flavor in a school of medicine.

So when I criticize the doc, I am attacking his statements, usually on the subject of alternative medicine. It’s intended to show that reasonable person (which I quite believe that I am, thankyouverymuch) with sound rigorous training can have a balanced view on the subject, and that not everyone who believes in, uses, or tries to promote some brand of alternative therapy is an “altie.” I don’t pretend to know anything about his expertise as a practicing doctor, his knowledge on other subjects, or anything personal about him.

However, it is with great sadness that I’ve read about his death in the family. His account of being able to switch off his “doctor’s mind” while in the ICU(Intensive Care Unit) is especially touching. As my mother-in-law commented (and I paraphrase for appropriateness), it’s different when it’s the body of someone you love.

Orac, if on the very small chance you read this, you and your family have my condolences.

