The fair tax


These days, it seems that when I post something about Neal Boortz, I’m excoriating him for saying something stupid. This time, I’m not. Don’t expect this to last.

If his show notes/blog is correct, he’s donating all royalties to charity. This is a pretty good move on his part, as it shows that he really believes in the fair tax. And you know what, I have to differ with my liberal friends on this and go with Boortz. The fair tax 23% national sales tax on everything, with a monthly allowance for necessities such as food and shelter. It’s a consumption tax that no one can escape, not even if they leave their money in overseas tax shelters.

As I see it, our current tax system is terribly corrupt. It is so freakin complicated you have to get a degree to understand it. And you can bet the large corporations pay accountants hundreds of thousands of dollars so they can score millions of dollars in loopholes and tax shelters. Me? I pay $10 a year to use a program to make taxes simpler, and that’s fine as far as it goes, but it can’t really give me advice on where to best place my money to score the biggest break.

And here’s what I like about the system (from what I can see right now):

  • It’s simple, so everybody can understand.
  • It’s transparent. Corporations have no huge advantage over individuals when it comes to dealing with taxes.
  • No yearly income tax filing.
  • No payroll taxes.
  • The poor pay next to nothing in taxes if they spend money only on the essentials.
  • Saving is rewarded.

Of course, this system can become corrupt just like any other. Perhaps it’s a total rewrite and simplification that’s appealing to me. And I think it’s the fairness … it’s impossible to escape. Here are a couple of disadvantages as I see it:

  • The extreme rich miser can become a sinkhole for stagnant wealth. Not sure if this is merely a theoretical or real problem, but I think it can be addressed through a sane estate tax.
  • As with any other system, Congress will probably modify it or putrify it to begin with from the intense corporate lobby, so it will be just as corrupt as the income tax. This is my cynicism speaking, I know, but remember that income tax withholding was a “temporary government program” in World War II.

At any rate, it seems that the GOP might just make an issue out of this, and I think our tax system needs a good hard look with a thorough analysis. And not just by Tucker Carlson, but everybody in this country.

6 Responses

  1. I think the Fair Tax is so good an idea I read the book then bought two more to force feed to my liberal friends. I wouldn’t concern myself with the wealthy miser. In today’s system he can avoid taxes as well so that doesn’t really change.

  2. Boortz is an asshole…

    http://mediamatters.org/items/200509200005

  3. You know, that’s what bugs me the most about him. If you don’t like what he’s saying, you’re

    * a follower of Marx
    * stupid
    * a footsoldier in the war against the individual
    * etc., etc.

    Personally, I think an honest caring person can come to a perfectly different conclusion from me.

  4. Brian and John,
    Let’s assume for a moment that Boortz is the biggest a-hole that ever drew a breath. Does that mean the fair tax is a bad idea?

  5. Emory, I’m confused about your comment. I’ve come out in support of the fair tax.

    And Boortz is a big a-hole.

  6. Actually John that was directed more at Brian. My point was to not get caught up in the personality in question when discussing that person’s idea.

Comments are closed.

