Fun was successfully had


I spent a good part of this weekend at the beach, my first such trip for a couple of years. I really should get out there more, because it’s only 2.5 or so hours down the road. At any rate, I stayed at the Howard Johnson Express in Wilmington (bad move, because the beds and pillows were made of stone) and spent some time at Carolina and Wrightsville beaches with my wife and toddler daughter.

It was an absolute blast, and my daughter agreed. We played in the waves, made sand castles, did yoga on the beach, waded out a little bit, and watched people almost the whole day. The only bad part: the trip back home. I swear that girl never sleeps in the car any more. I thought for sure she would, but no she kept screaming “go back to the beach!”

That’s probably my last significant trip in the next year or so, when I hope to make my return to the Joint Statistical Meetings (I’m skipping out this year).

