“Vacation crisis,” indeed


Half of American workers don’t use all of their “vacation time”:http://www.wral.com/money/4534923/detail.html, according to a recent study. The study then goes on to note that we really are shortchanging ourselves not just in terms of not accepting the full benefits of our compensation, but also in terms of health.

Know how many vacation days I’ve taken in the last twelve months? Four, may as many as six. That’s out of twelve. When I changed jobs, I was able to cash out the others I had built up. Yep, I really need to rethink this, because the stress right now is so bad I can hardly bear it. I’ll get a little break with a short trip to the mountains this weekend, but maybe I’ll take a longer one later this summer. I’ll need it.

