The Vioxx aftermath plot thickens


I really can’t comment on “this story,”:http://www.scienceblog.com/community/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=4761 except to say that I and many others smell a lot of rats. I speculate the following:
* Drug reimportation will happen. Pharma companies and the FDA have both lost enough credibility over the Vioxx/Baycol imbroglio that no one will take their safety claims seriously.
* Several big drug companies will fall. Some completely, and some just majorly downsized.
* Fewer new small pharma companies due to investor skittishness.
* More regulation, longer time to market, shorter time under patent for new drugs.
* After a decade, a new equilibrium will be reached. Life will go on.

I hope I’m not on the street for part of that time.

